Our Continued Fascination With the Starburys

As the Exterminating Angels closed out a fun but ultimately fulfilling season in the Urban Professionals League (being a tougher division than, say, the NBA's Atlantic, our 7-5 record meant that we didn't qualify for the playoffs), I heard the following sideline conversation from on sidelines in the closing minutes of our 61-53 win: "Are those the Starburys?" "Yeah. I love those shoes. We should get some for our team." The Starbury is now, at this point, the semi-official shoe of the Ex Angels; three of us wear them in our games (the verdict: you'd do well to insert an additional insole, but, especially for $15, this is a legit shoe) and it's the subject of continued fascination in our postgame beer conversations.

But it’s not only us; the world has discovered our shoe. The Chicago Sports Review hits all the main points in this article. And I wonder if this guy still stands by his thoughts last year:

A big part of the reason why so many people are willing to plop down close to $200 for sneakers is the cost itself. It’s a status statement. Like gaudy jewelry, a pair of expensive shoes says that the wearer is able to spend that much on exclusive footwear. That’s the idea, and “flossin’” has become so entrenched in urban mentality that it’s almost a necessity, even if it’s fiscally irresponsible.

The chorus of the Big Tymers’ song “Still Fly” comes to mind. “I can’t pay my rent, ’cause all my money’s spent. But that’s OK, ’cause I’m still fly.”

It’s the same reason why Payless shoes aren’t “the shit” among Marbury’s target demographic. In fact, the Starbury One will actually go for cheaper than most adult basketball shoes in Payless.

I’d be more optimistic about his business venture if the shoes were being sold for $50. From the perspective of most inner-city youngsters, you can’t stay fly in pair of kicks that cost less than your grandfather’s house sandals.

I think maybe there’s a sea change in this sort of thing, and that low end is becoming the new chic. And I’m wondering if the Starburys are hitting a different market: Not so much poor kids,but people who could afford $100 shoes, but don’t want to.

2 Comments on Our Continued Fascination With the Starburys

  1. Hey, I’m the guy who wrote it. No, I’ve been proven wrong. And I’m happy about it. I’m a Marbury fan and I liked the idea of the venture, but I just thought that people wouldn’t be too interested. I’m hearing that they’re flying off the shelves and I have friends who’ve gone out and bought 3-4 pairs.

    It’s a good thing and I stand corrected. And thanks for the plug on your blog.

  2. That track is utterly incredible!

Leave a Reply

