And the Award for Best Shouts & Murmurs this Month Goes To…

Larry Doyle, for Bad Dog, which is pretty friggin’ funny.  Written from the perspective of a dog owner trying to set the record straight after his dog’s memoir has become a best-seller, it’s entirely great. A taste:

I’m not naïve. I knew the reviews might be bad, like that hatchet job in Dog Fancy. What I did not expect was to be sucker-punched by Oprah, or denounced from the floor of the U.S. Senate, or the mass crap-ins on my lawn. The price of truth, I guess.

I wrote “Tyrant Rex: His Life as My Dog” as a much needed corrective to “Speak: A Memoir,” and I stand behind my version, which costs three dollars less and contains many never-before-published candid photos of Rex.

Leave a Reply

