For Some Reason, I Find this Completely Fascinating. And I Don’t Even Play Tennis

This, from Sharon Begley’s Lab Notes blog, caught my eye: A new study that shows tennis refs are more likely to call a ball ‘out’ when it’s actually in than they are to rule ‘in’ when it’s out. The reason, says Begley:

The human visual system consistently misperceives moving objects as shifted in the direction of their motion, making them appear to be farther along their path than they are.

Which, for some reason reminds me of David Foster Wallace’s many fine writings on tennis, including my favorite one, “Tennis, Trigonometry, Tornadoes: A Midwestern Boyhood.”

1 Comment on For Some Reason, I Find this Completely Fascinating. And I Don’t Even Play Tennis

  1. Fascinating! I wonder if this kind of study could make NFL and college football fans previously lukewarm to the instant replay (as non-televised aesthetic) a bit more appreciative.

Leave a Reply

