Today In Cool But Annoying: Hulu, Twitter, Dollhouse and the Story of Why Can’t they Just Let Me Easily Embed the #$%&#ing Thing in WordPress

Like you all, I was entirely excited for the debut of Dollhouse. Though I’ve only seen one episode, and I can already tell this is going to end in tears of frustration from me and everyone else, and no matter what the haters say, I’m in. Though it steals from, well, every Whedon show ever made, plus Blade Runner, Never Let Me Go, All My Sins Remembered and probably 30 other things I can’t remember off the top of my head, there’s plenty to chew on here. This is a particularly lovely bit from the second episode:

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Still, this post is not here to praise Joss Whedon, but to praise Hulu (some) and complain (mostly). First of all, the Twuulu thing? It’s kinda genius (it sends out a tweet everytime you watch something on Hulu) and maybe kinda annoying; haven’t figured it out yet, but if nothing else it’s a smart move by Hulu. On the less-smart side, why is there no ‘Generate an Embed Code’ function for Hulu’s ‘Share’ feature? It’s a really great addition; I love that I can make my own clips; but I want to share them the way I want to, by posting to WordPress. Hulu makes you post to Facebook, Myspace, etc., and doesn’t allow play in page—you have to click a link that takes you back to Hulu.

Leave a Reply

